Image

Most people claim that they would rescue photo albums and family heirlooms if their home ever caught on fire. I might have to take several trips back and forth through the flames to rescue the vintage sportswear pieces from my closet. I’ll be the first person to admit that I’m a very materialistic person when it comes to vintage jerseys and concert tees.

I would feel naked and alone if anything ever happened to my Dennis Rodman original Champion jersey. Original Champion brand jerseys are very rare, yet I copped this steal for the low price of $25 at Buffalo Exchange! Would it be possible to turn heads without my bootylicious 2-Live Crew concert t-shirt from 1996? Probably not. I would feel empty if I couldn’t bring others happiness and nostalgia with my black Mecca boots circa 1999. 
               

Finding rare sportswear pieces brings me great joy. Why purchase a rip-off Beastie Boys t-shirt from Urban Outfitters for $60 when I have an original 1996 concert t-shirt? Hand-me-downs from parents are the best and vintage pieces can bring back memories that clothing from Forever 21 can’t. I get sentimental  every time I wear my Lil Bow Wow tank because it reminds me of my childhood when my little brother and I would play basketball pretending we were Lil Bow Wow in the movie Like Mike. I feel cozy both inside and out when I wear my Coogi sweaters because they remind me of my grandpa that used to wear them all of the time. Vintage streetwear pieces make the wearer look great on the outside while making them feel great on the inside.

Image

Image

 

